How to delete deleted files from a hard drive
Everything from your private documents and personal information to your Internet history and e-mail messages - all information can be easily recovered.
It could be critical if you intend to recycle or sell your computer and want to make sure that none of your sensitive data is left on the hard drive and could be potentially recovered by the next user.
If you need to delete sensitive files from a hard drive beyond recovery, you should use file shredder software. It enables you to permanently delete files and wipe free space on your hard drive.
Make it impossible for anyone to restore deleted information and track your computer use.
Prevent business data and personal information from being recovered.
Save hard disk space and improve your computer's performance.
Why you should permanently delete deleted filesIt could be lots of situations when it is absolutely necessary to delete deleted files:
If you have sensitive files on your computer and now you are selling or discarding it.
If you want to free up disk space to improve computer speed.
If you want to delete files, photos or pictures from removable disks, or memory sticks.
If you empty the Recycle Bin and even format your hard drive, Windows just deletes a reference to the file from a table that lists all files on your computer but the content of the file still exists until Windows overwrites it with new information. So deleted files are still kept on your hard drive and can be easily recovered.
How to delete deleted files foreverTo delete deleted files forever, you should wipe free space. Free space is the area on your hard drive or removable drive where all the previously deleted files are stored until they are overwritten by other information.
There are special delete files tools that help you wipe free space and permanently delete deleted files in a secure way, so they cannot be recovered by undelete tools.